The 38th Atlantic Journalism Awards

HALIFAX, May 9, 2019 /CNW/ - Hundreds of people from the Atlantic journalism community will gather in Halifax this Saturday night, May 11, to celebrate journalistic excellence in the region. It's the 38th annual Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel. Tickets can be purchased at www.AJAs.ca  TICKETS. The gala reception runs from 6:30 -7:30 pm with the awards show at 7:30. Well know broadcasters Rick Howe of News 95.7 Halifax and Jonna Brewer of CBC Moncton will MC the event.

The AJAs received over 350 entries in newspaper, radio, television, magazine and digital journalism earlier this year and judges from coast to coast have selected three finalists in each of the 30 news categories. Both gold and silver awards will be presented to the top journalist, plus the AJAs will induct eight journalists or journalism builders into the Atlantic Journalism Hall of Fame.

The gala awards event is open to the public and there will be lots of photo opportunities with news celebrities.

Our thanks to Cision for sponsoring this announcement.

SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

For further information: Bill Skerrett, bmskerrett@aol.com, 902-478-6026


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca