AJAs announces student winners

HALIFAX, April 12, 2019 /CNW/ - Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) is pleased to announce this year's student award winners. Each year independent panels of judges, armed with various selection criteria, review submissions from students in journalism education programs throughout the Atlantic region, selecting one winner per category.

CN Prix d'excellence en journalisme: Camille Turbide - Université de Moncton - Moncton, NB

AJAs Journalism Prize: Tony Davis - Holland College - Charlottetown, PE

Province of Nova Scotia Scholarship: Cynthia d'Entremont - University of King's College - Halifax, NS

Atlantic Lottery Achievement Award: Laurianne Croteau - University of King's College - Halifax, NS

Marine Atlantic Journalism Scholarship: Jasmine Burt - College of the North Atlantic - St. John's, NL

Geoff Stirling Memorial Journalism Award: Ashley Sheppard - College of the North Atlantic - St. John's, NL

CWA/SCA Canada Student Award of Excellence: Brooklyn Currie - Nova Scotia Community College - Dartmouth, NS

The student winners will be presented with awards in their home Provinces in May. The AJAs gala reception and awards show will take place on May 11, 2019 at the Halifax Marriott Harbour-front Hotel in Halifax, NS. 

Tickets for the AJAs events including the gala reception and awards show and the AJAs professional development webinar series can be purchased through www.AJAs.ca.

Our thanks to Cision for sponsoring this announcement.


SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

For further information: Natalie Clifford, Associate Director, Atlantic Journalism Awards, 902-240-4080, office@ajas.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca