AJAs announces student winners

HALIFAX, May 2, 2017 /CNW/ - Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) is pleased to announce this year's student award winners. Each year independent panels of judges, armed with various selection criteria, review submissions from students in journalism education programs throughout the Atlantic region, selecting one winner per category.

CN Prix d'excellence en journalisme: Alexandre Boudreau - Université de Moncton - Moncton, NB

AJAs Journalism Prize: Millicent McKay - Holland College - Charlottetown, PE

Province of Nova Scotia Scholarship: Alexander Quon - University of King's College - Halifax, NS

Atlantic Lottery Achievement Award: Caora McKenna - University of King's College - Halifax, NS

Marine Atlantic Journalism Scholarship: Jonathan Hodder - College of the North Atlantic - Halifax, NS

Geoff Stirling Memorial Journalism Award: Michael Moore - College of the North Atlantic - St. John's, NL

Nalcor Achievement Award: Martin Jones - College of the North Atlantic - St. John's, NL

CWA/SCA Canada Student Award of Excellence: NSCC Journalism Students, 2017 represented by Allister Aalders - Halifax, NS

The student winners will be honoured at a special reception in St. John's, NL in the afternoon of May 6, 2017. The Atlantic Journalism Awards gala reception and awards show will take place on the evening of Saturday, May 6, 2017 at the St. John's NL Convention Centre.


SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

For further information: Natalie Clifford, Associate Director, Atlantic Journalism Awards, 902-240-4080, office@ajas.ca; www.AJAs.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca