Burry and Germain to MC the AJAs

HALIFAX, March 8, 2017 /CNW/ - Lynn Burry, senior producer and co-host of NTV Evening Newshour, and Anthony Germain host of CBC St. John's Morning Show, will be the Masters of Ceremonies for the Atlantic Journalism Awards. This year's event will be held on Saturday, May 6, 2017 at the St. John's Convention Centre.

Lynn Burry began her career in television in 1983 as a general assignments reporter at NTV. She moved on to become legislative reporter and in 1993 became co-anchor of the NTV Evening Newshour - which is the province's number one newscast. Over the years, Lynn has hosted General Elections, Political Conventions and has been a panelist in every televised Party Leaders Debate since 1989. In addition to her role as anchor, Lynn is also the Senior Producer for NTV and host of the weekly current affairs show, Issues and Answers.

Anthony Germain started his career with CBC in Halifax in 1991. He moved on to report news and current affairs in Moncton, Saint John and Quebec City. He was a parliamentary reporter in Ottawa where he hosted CBC's flagship political show The House, before moving on to host the Morning Show in Ottawa. Anthony spent five years as CBC's foreign correspondent in China - reporting from Shanghai and Beijing from 2006 to 2011. Anthony has won many awards for his investigative work uncovering tax fraud in Canada and for his work in China and various war zones. 

Finalists for the Atlantic Journalism Awards will be announced in early April. The gold and silver awards will be presented at a gala dinner and awards show on Saturday, May 6, 2017, at the St. John's Convention Centre.

Tickets for the show and gala reception will soon be available online at www.AJAs.ca. For a full biography, photo, and further information on the AJAs visit our website at www.AJAS.ca.


SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

For further information: Natalie Clifford, Associate Director, Atlantic Journalism Awards, (902) 240-4080, office@AJAs.ca, www.AJAs.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca