AJAs Announces New Supporters for St. John's Ceremony and Gala

HALIFAX, Jan. 19, 2017 /CNW/ -  The Atlantic Journalism Awards announces that Fortis Inc.; Oceanex; Roebothan, MacKay and Marshall; Cougar Helicopters; International Association of Business Communicators and Destination St. John's are the newest welcomed supporters of the Atlantic region's primary journalism competition. Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) enters its 36th year of celebrating the region's best journalism – with the generous support of new and continuing supporters.

The Atlantic Journalism Awards is a registered charity and relies entirely on the generous support of industry and regional partners and supporters. The awards are facilitated to bring our media community together and to encourage, support and further journalistic excellence in Atlantic Canada.

Atlantic Canadian journalists are reminded to submit their print, radio, television, online stories and images to the 36th Atlantic Journalism Awards before the deadline of midnight on Wednesday, February 1, 2017. The fully digital contest entry system is available at www.ajasonline.org along with the regulations and judging guidelines.

Panels of judges from across Canada will review the entries and select three finalists from each category. Finalists will be announced in early April and the gold and silver awards will be presented at the gala reception and awards show on Saturday, May 6, 2017, at the new St. John's Convention Centre in St. John's, NL.

This year's awards ceremony will be followed by an exclusive after party with music and endless dessert selections at the JAG Boutique Hotel in downtown St. John's.

The continued support of Strategic Partner Atlantic Lottery, Partners Marine Atlantic, Nalcor Energy, Province of Nova Scotia, CN, CNW Group, Provincial Airways, Clifford Shiels Legal and Media Partners Brunswick News, CBC, NewCap Inc., Global Maritimes, The Chronicle Herald, Radio-Canada, Sterling Communications, Atlantic Magazines Association and CWA Canada makes the Atlantic Journalism Awards possible. 

If you'd like to put your name in front of the region's journalism community – contact us today to discuss options for involvement with the Atlantic Journalism Awards.


SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

For further information: Bill Skerrett, Executive Director, Atlantic Journalism Awards, (902) 478-6026, office@AJAs.ca, www.AJAs.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca