AJAs Announces Lifetime Achievement Award


HALIFAX, April 22, 2016 /CNW/ - The Atlantic Journalism Awards is proud to announce that Norma Lee MacLeod of CBC Nova Scotia is this year's recipient of the AJAs Lifetime Achievement Award. The award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated a lifetime of dedication to journalism excellence in Atlantic Canada.

Norma Lee MacLeod is the host and show producer for CBC Radio One's Maritime Noon. She joined Maritime Noon in 2011 after working on a variety of assignments in a career that spans more than 30 years with the CBC. 

MacLeod has been host, producer and reporter for CBC News Nova Scotia. She was network host of CBC Newsworld, CBC Morning and Health Matters, as well as Maritime Magazine on CBC Radio One. Her talents have been recognized with two Gemini nominations, one for best news anchor and one for best host/interviewer for Health Matters. She was awarded the Atlantic Journalism Awards' gold award last year for the best information news radio program.

MacLeod has covered many live and breaking news stories throughout her career, including the Westray Mine disaster and the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta. She was also a key member of the Gemini award winning CBC team reporting from the scene of the Swissair crash.

Prior to joining the CBC, MacLeod was a reporter with The Evening News in New Glasgow. She moved to Halifax from her home province of PEI in 1989 to host First Edition, the CBC's supper-hour news program for Nova Scotia.

MacLeod will be honoured at the Atlantic Journalism Awards gala dinner and awards event on May 7, 2016 at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel.  Ticket information at www.AJAs.ca. (Tickets)


SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

Image with caption: "Norma Lee MacLeod (CNW Group/Atlantic Journalism Awards)". Image available at: http://photos.newswire.ca/images/download/20160422_C5041_PHOTO_EN_672687.jpg

For further information: Natalie Clifford, (902) 240-4080, office@ajas.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca