AJAs announces student winners

HALIFAX, April 14, 2016 /CNW/ - Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) is pleased to announce this year's student award winners. Each year independent panels of judges, armed with various selection criteria, review submissions from students in journalism education programs throughout the Atlantic region, selecting one winner per category.

Province of Nova Scotia Scholarship: Grace Kennedy - University of King's College - Halifax, NS

Atlantic Lottery Achievement Award: Julia Manoukian - University of King's College - Halifax, NS

CWA/SCA Canada Student Award of Excellence: Kristen Brown - NS Community College, Waterfront Campus - Dartmouth, NS

Marine Atlantic Journalism Scholarship: Kyle Greenham - College of the North Atlantic - Stephenville, NL

Geoff Stirling Memorial Journalism Award: Kyle Greenham - College of the North Atlantic -Stephenville, NL

Nalcor Achievement Award: Jason Daley - College of the North Atlantic - Stephenville, NL

CN Prix d'Excellence en Journalisme: Marie-Pier Cyr - Université de Moncton - Moncton, NB

AJAs Journalism Prize: Jeremy Fraser - Holland College - Charlottetown, PEI

The student winners will be presented with awards at special finalists' receptions to take place in each of the four Atlantic provinces. The AJAs gala dinner and awards show will take place on May 7, 2016, at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel in Halifax, NS.


SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

For further information: Natalie Clifford, Associate Director, Atlantic Journalism Awards, 902-240-4080, office@ajas.ca; www.AJAs.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca