AJAs announces student winners

HALIFAX, April 22, 2015 /CNW/ - Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) is pleased to announce this year's student award winners. Each year independent panels of judges, armed with various selection criteria, review submissions from students in journalism education programs throughout the Atlantic region, selecting one winner per category.

Province of Nova Scotia Scholarship: Natasha MacDonald-Dupuis  - University of King's College - Halifax, NS

Marine Atlantic Journalism Scholarship: Christopher Lewis – College of the North Atlantic – Stephenville, NL

Atlantic Lottery Achievement Award: Natasha MacDonald-Dupuis – University of King's College – Halifax, NS

Geoff Stirling Memorial Journalism Award: Nathaniel Barnes – College of the North Atlantic –Stephenville, NL

Nalcor Achievement Award: Rudey Downey – College of the North Atlantic – Stephenville, NL

Newzulu Student Award for Photojournalism: Ben Cousins – University of King's College – Halifax, NS

CN Prix D'Excellence En Journalisme: Jessica Savoie – Université de MonctonMoncton, NB

AJAs Student Award of Excellence: Dave Irish – NS Community College, Waterfront Campus- Dartmouth, NS

AJAs Journalism Prize: Maureen CoulterHolland College, Charlottetown. PEI

The student winners will be presented with awards at special finalists' receptions to take place in each of the four Atlantic provinces in the month of April. The AJAs gala dinner and awards show will take place on May 9, 2015, at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel in Halifax, NS.


SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

For further information: Natalie Clifford, Associate Director, Atlantic Journalism Awards, 902-240-4080, office@ajas.ca; www.AJAs.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca