Stirling Communications joins AJAs

HALIFAX, Feb. 4, 2015 /CNW/ - The Atlantic Journalism Awards announced today that Stirling Communications International which owns and operates NTV- Canada's Superstation (www.ntv.ca), CHOZ FM (www.ozfm.com) and The Newfoundland Herald (www.nfldherald.com) in St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada, has joined the AJAs as a Media Partner. Founded by the late Geoff Stirling the trio of media outlets is a powerhouse of news, information and entertainment for Newfoundland and Labrador and the world. NTV has been a gold winner and silver finalists in the AJAs competition in the past. Their NTV Evening News has won the Best TV Newscast award.

In addition to becoming a Partner with the AJAs to honour journalistic excellence in Atlantic Canada, the President of Stirling Communications, Scott Stirling, announced the establishment of a $1,000 Geoff Stirling Memorial Award for a journalism student at the College of the North Atlantic in Bay St. George, NL. The winning student will have demonstrated independent journalistic thinking and excellence in journalism studies. The winning student will be presented with the award at a special ceremony at Government House in St. John's NL in late April. The award will also include a job shadowing experience at one of the Stirling Communications media companies.

The Atlantic Journalism Awards (www.AJAs.ca) is in its 34th year of honouring journalistic excellence in Atlantic Canada through a juried competition in 28 categories including newspapers, magazines, radio, television and online journalism. The presentation of the AJAs awards will be made during a gala dinner and awards event at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel on Saturday, May 9, 2015.


SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

For further information: Bill Skerrett, 305-230-0424, office@AJAs.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca