Murphy and Hoare to MC AJAs

HALIFAX, April 9, 2013 /CNW/ - Tom Murphy, host of CBC News Nova Scotia and the Chronicle Herald's Eva Hoare will be the Masters of Ceremonies for the Atlantic Journalism Awards. This year's 32nd Atlantic Journalism Awards gala dinner and awards event will be held at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel May 11th.

Tom began his career at CBC in Charlottetown, working as both a radio and television reporter and back-up host for eight years before moving to CBC Halifax in 1999 as a current affairs reporter. Tom has won several awards including an RTNDA award for TV short feature.  His work has been recognized by the Atlantic Journalism Awards and the Columbus International Film and Television Festival. He has also received several Gemini and Canadian Screen Award nominations. 

Eva started her career as a reporter/news announcer at CHNS Radio in the mid-1980s. In 1985, she became a reporter at The Chronicle Herald. She has also been assignment editor at the newspaper during her career. Eva has been nominated several times for Atlantic Journalism Awards, winning twice. In 2013, she was nominated as News Person of the Year with the Canadian Association of Journalists.

Winners will be presented with the gold and silver awards at the gala dinner and awards event May 11th. Tickets for the show and gala dinner are available online at www.AJAs.ca.


For further information:

Jessica Wilson
Project Coordinator

Atlantic Journalism Awards

(902) 402-4494


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca