MCs announced for AJAs

HALIFAX, April 13 /CNW/ - The Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) is pleased to announce CBC Newfoundland and Labrador journalist, Chris O'Neill-Yates, and Global Maritimes News Director Allan Rowe will be the Masters of Ceremonies for the 29th gala awards event.

Chris O'Neill-Yates has been a journalist with CBC Newfoundland and Labrador in St. John's for 17 years. She has won many awards for her investigative reporting for both regional and national radio and television stories. O'Neill-Yates studied journalism at the University of King's College and holds an honours BA degree from Memorial University (French/English). She speaks English, French, Spanish, Portuguese and some Gujarati. O'Neill-Yates has also worked in Brazil, Spain and India on journalism projects.

Allan Rowe, News Director for Global Maritimes in Dartmouth, NS has spent close to 30 years in the media. His career in journalism began in the early 80's at Radio CJYQ in St. John's, NL. Over the years he took on positions with NTV, ASN and SUN Radio. Rowe moved to the Assignment Editor Desk at Global Television in 1995, and later entered the studio as anchor of the late news, followed by a move to 6 p.m. cast in 1998.

Finalists for the Atlantic Journalism Awards were announced in early April. Winners will be presented with the gold and silver awards at the gala dinner and awards event on May 8, 2010, at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel. Professional development workshops will also be held during the day on May 8.

The Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) is an annual celebration of excellence in Atlantic Canadian journalism. Over 70 gold and silver awards will be presented for the best 2009 print, radio, television, online, and magazine stories and images.

Tickets for the show and gala dinner are available online at www.AJAs.ca, or by calling (902) 425-2727. For daily updates, follow the AJAs on Twitter and join its Facebook group. Tweeting about the AJAs MCs? Use hashtag No.AJAs.

For further information: Annette LeBlanc, Project Coordinator, Atlantic Journalism Awards, (902) 425-2727, office@AJAs.ca, www.AJAs.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca