AJAs Deadline Announced

    HALIFAX, Dec. 1 /CNW/ - The Atlantic Journalism Awards has announced the
deadline for entering stories and images from the 2008 news year is Friday,
January 30, 2009. Entries must be by journalists in Atlantic Canada and must
have been published or broadcast in the region's newspapers, magazines, radio
or television stations during 2008.
    Three finalists will be selected in each category by panels of judges
from coast to coast and they will be announced in early April 2009. All of the
finalists will be honoured at a gala dinner and awards ceremony on Saturday,
May 2, 2009 at the Delta Beauséjour Hotel in Moncton NB . Daytime professional
development workshops will also be held on May 2.
    Details of category definitions, entry forms and procedures can be found
at www.AJAs.ca or telephone 902-425-2727. The categories include Spot News,
Feature Writing, Continuing Coverage, Enterprise Reporting, Sports Reporting,
Arts & Entertainment Reporting, Atlantic Magazine Best Article, Atlantic
Magazine Best Cover, Atlantic Magazine Best Profile Article, Photojournalism
Spot News, Photojournalism Feature, Videojournalist, Commentary, Editorial
Cartooning, and The Jim MacNeill New Journalist Award.

For further information:
For further information: Bill Skerrett, (902) 435-9166


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca