Haggert new AJAs chair

    HALIFAX, June 4 /CNW/ - Peter Haggert, Editor of the The Daily Gleaner
newspaper in Fredericton NB is the new chair of the Atlantic Journalism Awards
Board of Directors. Peter is a charter member of the AJAs Board, established
in 2001, and has been with Brunswick News for eight years. Previously, he
worked for Thomson Newspapers and has edited daily newspapers in three
provinces. He is a past president of the Canadian Association of Newspaper
Editors and is currently an active committee member with the Canadian
Newspaper Association. He has been a panelist or moderator for numerous
community and journalism workshops.
    The Atlantic Journalism Awards was started in 1981 to honour journalistic
excellence and achievement in print and electronic media in New Brunswick,
Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland/Labrador. The AJAs Board of
Directors include; Dawn Chafe, Editor, Atlantic Business Magazine: Paula Dyke,
Director, Public Affairs and Corporate Communication, Atlantic Lottery
Corporation; Janet Gallant, Vice-President Atlantic Canada, CNW Group; Kelly
Gallant, Communications and Public Affairs, Aliant; Alison Gillan,
Representing Emera; Fred Greening, Senior Producer, CBC-TV News, NL; Peter
Haggert (Chair), Editor, The Daily Gleaner; Laura Lee Langley - Ass't Deputy
Minister, Communications Nova Scotia; Kevin McIntosh, Director of Digital
Publishing, Transcontinental Media; Gerry Phelan, Steele Communications;
Mary-Pat Schutta, Program Manager, CBC Radio, Fredericton; Kevin Ward, Chief
of Atlantic Services, The Canadian Press; Gerald Weseen, General Manager,
Communication and Public Affairs, Nova Scotia Power; and Jay Witherbee, News
Director, CTV.
    Details of the Atlantic Journalism Awards can be found at www.AJAs.ca

    The 2008 Atlantic Journalism Awards will be celebrated next May 2, 2009
at the Delta Beauséjour in Moncton.

For further information:
For further information: Bill Skerrett, (902) 435-9166, office@AJAs.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca