MCs announced for AJAs

    HALIFAX, March 7 /CNW/ - The Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) is pleased
to announce that Maria Panopalis, co-host of CTV's Breakfast Television, and
Neville Gilfoy, President and publisher of Progress Media Group Halifax, will
be the Masters of Ceremonies for the 27th gala awards event. The AJAs will be
held on May 3, 2008, at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel.
    An Edward R. Murrow Award winner, Maria Panopalis has been the co-host of
CTV's Breakfast Television since 2002. Maria has extensive formal education
including a Bachelor of Science degree from Dalhousie University, a Journalism
degree from University of King's College and a Post Graduate diploma in
Applied Information Technology. In 2005 Maria won Making it Big, a North
American reality show which saw her compete against two other contestants for
the title of best entertainment reporter. Maria is heavily involved in the
community, lending her time and talents to a variety of charitable
organizations and events.
    In over 30 years of publishing experience, Neville Gilfoy has worked in
circulation, advertising and editorial departments for multiple magazines and
newspapers. Gilfoy has launched Atlantic Progress (later becoming Progress),
Nova Scotia Open to the World, Progrès, Progress Preferred Book of Lists,
Progress Research & Discovery and halifax magazine. The total combined annual
circulation of all Progress Media magazines is nearly 700,000. In 2007, Gilfoy
was presented with the Outstanding Achievement Award by the National Magazine
Awards Foundation. He also acts as the Honourary Consul for France in Nova
    Finalists for the Atlantic Journalism Awards will be announced in early
April. Winners will be presented with the gold awards at the gala dinner and
awards event on May 3, 2008. To order tickets for the AJAs event, go to
www.AJAs.ca, or call (902) 425-2727.

    Photographs of Maria Panopalis and Neville Gilfoy are available on the
    website, www.AJAs.ca.

For further information:
For further information: Natalie Clifford, Project Coordinator, (902)
425-2727, Office@AJAs.ca; Website: www.AJAs.ca, Photos available at


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca