AJAs deadline fast approaching - New radio categories

HALIFAX, Jan. 12, 2012 /CNW/ - The entry deadline to submit stories and photographs to the 31st Atlantic Journalism Awards annual competition is midnight Tuesday, January 31, 2012.  Entries are accepted through the AJAs online entry system which can be found at www.AJAsonline.org or on the AJAs website www.AJAs.ca.

In addition to the two existing radio categories, Enterprise Reporting and Feature Writing, this year there are 3 new radio categories. Applicants will now be able to submit journalism entries into Breaking News Radio, Best Information News Radio Program and Best Radio Newscast. In total, there are 28 print, radio, television and online news categories for the 2011 Atlantic Canada news year.

Judges from across Canada will select three finalists for each category and the winners will be honoured at a gala dinner and awards event at the Delta Fredericton on May 5, 2012.

For further information:

Emily Mallard

Tel: 902 425-2727

Email: 0ffice@AJAs.ca


The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact the AJAs office (Email) office@AJAs.ca