AJAs Deadline Approaching

HALIFAX, Jan. 6 /CNW/ - Atlantic Canadian journalists are reminded to submit their print, radio, television and online stories and images to the 29th Atlantic Journalism Awards.

Entries are required to have been published or broadcast in an Atlantic Canadian medium during 2009, and postmarked no later than the submission deadline of Friday, Jan. 29, 2010.

Panels of judges from across Canada will review the entries and select three finalists from each category. Finalists will be announced in early April and the gold and silver awards will be presented at the gala dinner and awards show on Saturday, May 8, 2010, at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel in Halifax, NS.

There are five new award categories that apply to the 2009 news year. The new categories are: Online News Reporting, Business Reporting, Best Page Presentation (newspaper), Community Reporting, and a Lifetime Achievement Award.

This year's Atlantic Journalism Awards categories are:

Spot News Reporting - Print, Radio, and Television
    Enterprise Reporting - Print, Radio, and Television
    Continuing Coverage - Print, Radio, and Television
    Feature Writing - Print, Radio, and Television
    Online News Reporting (NEW)
    Business Reporting - Any Medium (NEW)
    Sports Reporting - Any Medium
    Arts & Entertainment Reporting - Any Medium
    Commentary - Any Medium
    Video Journalist - Television
    Photojournalism Spot News - Print and Television
    Photojournalism Feature - Print and Television
    Editorial Cartooning
    Atlantic Magazine Article
    Atlantic Magazine - Best Cover
    Atlantic Magazine - Best Profile Article
    Best Page Presentation - Newspapers (NEW)
    Community Reporting - Any Medium (NEW)
    The Jim MacNeill New Journalist Award
    Lifetime Achievement Award

Entry forms, regulations, category descriptions, and other information can be found at www.AJAs.ca, or by calling (902) 425-2727.

Professional development workshops will also be held during the day on May 8.

For further information: Annette LeBlanc, Project Coordinator, Atlantic Journalism Awards, (902) 425-2727, office@ajas.ca; www.AJAs.ca

Home | Supporters | Organizers | Past Years | News Releases | Category Definitions | Rules | Tickets | Feedback

The Atlantic Journalism Awards has been a continuous annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. It is now managed by a volunteer industry board of directors representing print and broadcast news organizations. Contact Bill Skerrett at the AJAs office: (Tel) 902-425-2727; (Email) office@AJAs.ca